Now, stop me if I'm wrong, but are these two things very much similar? I had to stop myself and consistently ask myself if I could even distiguish between the two. It wasn't until I started reading the examples of reflexive that i somewhat understood what this was. On a scale of one to ten, I may understand about five and a half. I may need some reassurance that my assumptions are correct but how about this...?
    Reflective may be taking a look on work you have done and summarizing the process to decide what you could do differently next time. It's like looking in the mirror and seeing your reflection. Every ounce of you that has grown into the person you are today. By glancing into that mirror just once, you see your entire life before your eyes; the scar you have over your eyebrow from the time you slipped in the pool with your big sister and had to get a few stitches.
    Reflexive, on the other hand, is looking into the mirror, realizing you have that scar, and never having stepped foot inside a pool again for fear you would slip, fall, and need more stitches, you do it. You make a conscious decision after years of living in fear, you take a step back and say to yourself, "it's summertime; I am hot; what am I afraid of?" So you put on your teeny weeny polka dot bikini, right in front of the mirror, and you figure out just what you did wrong the first time around and you fix it.
    I'm not sure if these connections are anywhere near clear or precise, but I tried. This is how I see it. Reflective; sitting back and thinking about how you fucked up. Reflexive; fixing the problem.
vs.



Leave a Reply.